Published: Thu, December 08, 2016
World | By Paul Elliott

Recount: Clinton takes 2.5m votes ahead of Trump

As of today, Hillary Clinton has won the popular vote by at least 2 million-plus.

Pitney Jr. ranked all 58 presidential races in national history by the percentage of Electoral College votes that the victor had won. But what did the Democratic Party - more specifically President Obama - do instead? All you need to do to win all of a state's electoral votes is to win that state by one vote.

The outcome of that election is determined not by popular vote but by an antiquated mechanism called the Electoral College, through which each of the 50 states declares the victor in that state.

There is not 100 percent certainty that Donald Trump will be president.

A pair of Democrat state lawmakers are proposing Ohio's electoral votes should go to the victor of the national popular vote, regardless of who won the state - not that the idea is likely to go anywhere.

Last week, Art Sisneros, also a Republican elector from Texas, announced he planned to resign from the Electoral College rather than vote for Trump.

President-elect Trump masterfully campaigned in the so-called "swing states", and other states that normally voted Democratic and were taken for granted by his opponent, Secretary Clinton, and by winning them won the election.

Americans are more aware of what the Electoral College is and how it operates, AND support the process by a much greater margin, according to Gallup. Let's wait until after the Electoral College meets before talking about who hates the system more. If an elector wanted to change their vote, they'd be forced to resign and their vote would be replaced with someone who would vote for that nominee.

It seems the ghosts of Never Trump are rearing their heads with the electors in the Electoral College.

The Trump and Clinton campaigns didn't immediately respond to requests for comment.

"Presidential electors have the legal right and a constitutional duty to vote their conscience".

Trump is the first Republican to win MI since 1988.

Like this: