Published: Thu, April 20, 2017
Sports | By Nelson Rowe

Chelsea, Tottenham dominate PFA Team of the Year

Chelsea, Tottenham dominate PFA Team of the Year

Players from Premier League title-chasers Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur dominate the Professional Football Association's (PFA) Team of the Year announced on Thursday, occupying eight of the starting 11 spots.

Danny Rose, Gary Cahill, David Luiz, Kyle Walker and Dele Alli are also included, highlighting the impressive consistency of the London clubs.

In midfield, former PFA Player of the Year Eden Hazard is on the wing with Liverpool's Sadio Mane. The first and second placed teams in the table now each had four players named, while lone representatives from Manchester United, Liverpool, and Everton round out the eleven.

The Premier League's top two goalscorers lead the attack, in the form of Everton's Romelu Lukaku and Spurs' Harry Kane.

Then there was some annoyance that Sadio Mane, despite not being on the Player of the Year shortlist, managed to sneak in ahead of Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez, who is up for the individual award...

Newcastle United's Jonjo Shelvey, Jamaal Lascelles and Dwight Gayle are included, along with the Leeds United striker Chris Wood, Aaron Mooy of Huddersfield and Fulham duo Tom Cairney and 16-year-old full-back Ryan Sessegnon.

Meanwhile, Chelsea's Karen Carney and Eni Aluko were both selected into the FA WSL1 Team of the Year.

The Chelsea Ladies striker netted nine goals in 16 games last season, but her 102-cap England career looks to be over after missing out on this summer's tournament in Holland.

Like this: