Published: Mon, May 08, 2017
Sports | By Nelson Rowe

Kante wins 2nd individual award in English soccer

Kante wins 2nd individual award in English soccer

N'Golo Kante, whose parents are from Mali but emigrated to France in the 1980s, has won the prestigious Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award handed out by football journalists and correspondents writing for English newspapers and agencies.

1 - he is close to becoming the first player to win back-to-back Premier League titles with different clubs.

The Frenchman is considered crucial to the way Antonio Conte's side operates and his performances have not gone unnoticed.

The France worldwide topped the poll of the 340-strong membership ahead of Blues team-mate Eden Hazard, with Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli in third place.

Kante said: "It is a fantastic honour to win this award". Thierry Henry and ex-Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo got both in the same season twice.

Kante is only the fourth Chelsea player to be voted FWA Footballer of the Year in the 69-year history of the award, joining Gianfranco Zola in 1997, Frank Lampard in 2005 and Hazard in 2015.

Kante's rise has been as rapid as it has been impressive and I feel the midfielder would be a deserved recipient of the 2017 Football Writers' Association's Footballer of the Year award.

Kante, who arguably should have won it a year ago too, pipped Eden Hazard and Dele Alli in the running.

France global Kante, 26, drove former club Leicester to a shock title triumph last season and has again produced consistent performances at the heart of Chelsea's engine room following his £30million summer switch.

Kante himself was named the PFA Player of the Year back in April, and the Mail report that he has now won a remarkable individual double by picking up the FWA trophy for 2017 as well.

Overall, there were 17 players nominated for the personal accolade - five of them from Premier League leaders Chelsea, with David Luiz, Diego Costa and Cesar Azpilicueta the other three nominees from Stamford Bridge.

Do you think Kante deserves the award?

Like this: