Published: Fri, May 19, 2017
Sports | By Nelson Rowe

Belarus and Latvia to co-host 2021 hockey worlds

Belarus and Latvia to co-host 2021 hockey worlds

This also impacts all the other divisions in worldwide women's hockey, though they will stay the same with six members in each division. This also means the last-ranked team Czech Republic will stay in the top division for 2019 and be joined by Japan as ninth team, which recently earned promotion.

IIHF Council member Zsuzsanna Kolbenheyer said that this was a discussion that had been ongoing for roughly three years, and really began being considered after the success of the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

Only the victor of the group will be promoted to the Elite Division.

"We still can feel the gap between the North American teams and the rest of the world".

The third period saw an even play of both teams, but with the timer flashing 13:55 in the closing period, Russia's Artemi Panarin scored another goal for his team increasing the advantage to 3-0, which remained unchanged until the final buzzer went off. The other contender to host the World Championship was Finland.

The Russian national ice hockey team defeated the Czech Republic's squad 3-0 on Thursday marching into the semifinals of the 2017 IIHF (International Ice Hockey Federation) World Championship.

Belarus and Latvia will co-host the 2021 world hockey championship, while Finland will stage the 2022 event. The lower divisions of the Women's World Championship will be played in the 2017/2018 season and the hosts will be determined during the Congress this week.

Like this: