Published: Mon, July 17, 2017
Hi-Tech | By Ellis Neal

Presidential polls 2017: Battle for Rashtrapati Bhavan begins today!

Presidential polls 2017: Battle for Rashtrapati Bhavan begins today!

All three major political parties in the state - Congress, the BJP and the JD (S) - have convened their legislature party meetings on Monday morning at the Vidhana Soudha, where polling for the presidential election is scheduled to be held. Ballot papers are of two colours-green for MPs and pink for MLAs. In total, the voting will take place at 32 different polling stations across the nation. The term of present incumbent Pranab Mukherjee comes to an end on the 24th of this month.

The special pen will have to be returned to the polling staff.

The pens for the presidential polls were introduced following a controversy that broke out during voting in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana in September 2016.

The violet ink pen, procured from Mysore Paints that supplies indelible ink to mark voters' fingers, carries a unique serial number and will be handed over to the voter before they enter the voting chambers in Parliament and state assemblies.

Announcing the schedule of the election, the EC made it clear that use of any other pen could lead to invalidation of the vote at the time of counting under Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Rules, 1974.

In another first, the poll watchdog has also prepared special posters carrying dos and don'ts for the voters. Kovind, the former Bihar governor, is contesting against the opposition's joint candidate and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar.

Deka said two MLAs, Tarun Gogoi and Kamal Shing Narzary, will cast their votes in New Delhi. Former UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav is not eligible to vote as he is the member of the legislative council.

As indicated by the report, 184 (33%) out of 543 Lok Sabha MPs, 44 (19%) out of 231 Rajya Sabha MPs and 1,353 (33%) out of 4,078 MLAs over all states and union domains, have pronounced criminal cases of evidence against themselves in their affirmations in the latest races.

Forty-one Lok Sabha members including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath have been allowed to vote in their state assemblies.

Like this: