Published: Thu, September 14, 2017
World | By Paul Elliott

Hurricane Jose strengthens to a Category 2 storm

Hurricane Jose strengthens to a Category 2 storm

State energy company Pemex has installations in and around the coast of Veracruz but has not reported any disruption to its operations there.

While Irma was destroying islands, both Jose and Katia storms strengthened to hurricane status, bringing the number to three for the Atlantic basin.

Tropical Storm Katia was located off the Mexican coast some 135 miles (215 kilometers) east-southeast of the port of Tampico, the US National Hurricane Center reported.

The Category 3 storm had maximum sustained winds of 120 miles per hour, and could strengthen on Friday, according to the National Hurricane Center.

The National Hurricane Center noted that a NASA Global Precipitation Measurement mission (GPM) satellite microwave composite image indicated improved banding over the western portion of the circulation and the earlier ragged eye presentation has become much more distinct.

Jose is the 10th named storm of the season.

Irma is the largest recorded storm in the Atlantic basin outside of the Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean Sea, with maximum sustained wind speeds of 185 miles per hour.

Fluctuations in Hurricane Jose's intensity are possible for the next day or so, the National Hurricane Center said, and the storm is expected to gradually weaken after that.

At 7 a.m. CDT (8 a.m. EDT/1200 UTC) on September 8 the center of Hurricane Katia was located near 21.1 degrees north latitude and 95.6 degrees west longitude.

The NHC says the storm could become a major hurricane.

Some strengthening of the storm is forecast during the next 48 hours before it reaches the Mexican coast late Friday night, or early Saturday.

No watches or warnings are in effect for Jose.

Like this: