Published: Wed, October 11, 2017
Sports | By Nelson Rowe

Nations League: Wales beaten to spot in league A by Netherlands

Nations League: Wales beaten to spot in league A by Netherlands

Matches to be played home and away between September and November 2018 (teams will play four or six games depending on the size of their group).

Where do Ireland find themselves?

The Republic of Ireland, who beat Wales to get into the World Cup play-off, are also in League B with Northern Ireland.

Martin O'Neill's side will know their opponents when the draw is made in Lausanne, Switzerland on 24 January. The top twelve teams automatically form League A.

Portugal, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Poland, Iceland and Croatia are also in League A.

There are four Leagues A, B, C & D, with teams placed according to their UEFA ranking. Instead that will be delayed, and start in March 2019 and end in November of that year - the qualifying draw does not take place until December 2018.

Serbia, who qualified for the World Cup, are down in Group C with the likes of Bulgaria, Slovenia, Hungary and Greece.

For the UEFA Nations League Finals, the group winners of UEFA Nations League A will play in a knockout format (semi-finals, third-place match and final) in June 2019 to become the UEFA Nations League winners. The next 12 teams will be in League B, the next 15 in League C and the remaining 16 in League D.

League D: Azerbaijan, FYR Macedonia, Belarus, Georgia, Armenia, Latvia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Malta, Andorra, Kosovo, San Marino and Gibraltar.

Teams will be split into four groups of four, with the four group winners promoted to League C for the 2020 edition.

There will be an extra chance to qualify for Euro 2020 through the Nations League.

With the group stages of World Cup qualifying coming to a close, UEFA have revealed the teams that will take part in each League in the 2018-19 UEFA Nations League.

The Euro 2020 qualification play-offs are set for March 2020 as mentioned above, and Euro 2020 itself, which will be played across the continent, will begin three months later.

Like this: