Published: Tue, October 17, 2017
Science | By Hubert Green

Now, explore planets and moons using Google maps: Here's how

The American company has added the feature of watching a dozen planets.

Explore Venus and other objects in the solar system in Google Maps.

This is stated in the company blog.

The heavenly bodies include Saturn moons Dione, Enceladus, Iapetus, Mimas, Rhea and Titan, and Jupiter moons Europa, Ganymede and Io.

To access this new imagery, you can either just zoom out from your terrestrial Google Maps view until you hit outer space - or you could just click on this link here.

It was also the first time annotations were added to the imagery, allowing users to explore the ISS with pop-up notes that provide insights into life in zero gravity. This was on the occasion of two years of exploration of Curiosity spacecraft in the Mars. You can also explore International Space Station. "Peer beneath the thick clouds of Titan to see methane lakes", Stafford Marquardt, Product Manager at Google, wrote in a blogpost.

The beautifully stitched worlds were all created by astronomical artist Björn Jónsson who used imagery from both NASA and the European Space Agency archives. Missions like ESA's Venus Express had helped in the study of Venus while NASA's missions like new Horizon, Dawn and Voyager spacecrafts helped in the study of Pluto and Ceres.

The hope is that in the future, you'll be able to fly through the solar system as well.

Now, anyone with an Internet connection can venture to the Ringed Planet (among other celestial bodies), thanks to Cassini's high-definition photos.

Google's new announcement for Maps will surely excite you.

Like this: