Published: Wed, October 18, 2017
World | By Paul Elliott

Himachal Assembly Elections: BJP releases list of candidates for all 68 seats

Himachal Assembly Elections: BJP releases list of candidates for all 68 seats

New Delhi, Oct 18 Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal and Himachal Pradesh BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti are among the party candidates, a list for which was announced today, for the state Assembly polls.

He said that with the announcement of the elections, election code of conduct was implemented in the state.

The race for the top post is on between Dhumal and Union Minister J.P. Nadda.

BJP had declared its full list of candidates earlier in the day.

Summary: SHIMLA: Two stalwarts of Himachal Pradesh - chief minister Virbhadra Singh and leader of opposition Prem Kumar Dhumal - would be contesting the upcoming constituencies this time.

On the other hand, Dhumal had contested 2012 polls from Hamirpur Assembly constituency and previous three elections from Bamson in Hamirpur district. Meanwhile, Dhumal started his campaign in Sujanpur on Tuesday.

Former Minister Ms Sarvin Chaudhary will fight from Shahpur.

Joti told that the last date for nomination will be 23rd October.

Sources say a lot of surveys capturing the mood of the people taken into account before the final selection, and Anurag Thakur believes the selection of candidates will ensure more than 50 seats for the BJP. She is in the fray for the first time. Congress announced current Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh as the party's chief ministerial candidate earlier this month. The Congress is yet to declare its candidate from this seat.

However, the biggest surprise was the naming of Pramod Sharma, an university professor and a loyalist of Virbhadra Singh, to challenge the Chief Minister's son Vikramaditya Singh from Shimla (Rural). This will be his son's maiden contest if the Congress allots him the ticket from there. Earlier, the name of Veena Thakur was doing the rounds for Shimla (Rural), but Sharma emerged as the party's choice.

The BJP has axed the tickets of four sitting legislators and has fielded 12 new faces.

Like this: