Published: Wed, November 15, 2017
Sports | By Nelson Rowe

Raiders QB Derek Carr has been nominated for an award

Raiders QB Derek Carr has been nominated for an award

The 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees were formally announced on Tuesday.

A real competitor on the field, Carr has never been one to talk trash about his foes and is one of the more likable players in the National Football League while having a natural leadership quality that is rare at the position. The 8 finalists will then be voted on this year's Pro Bowl ballot by the players, where each team's players will select a consensus vote for the victor (and a team can not vote for its own player).

Robison has been with the Vikings since being drafted in the fourth round of the 2007 NFL Draft.

Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald won the award the year it debuted, Raiders and Packers defensive back Charles Woodson won in 2015, and San Francisco 49ers and Indianapolis Colts running back Frank Gore won it last year. A panel from the NFL Legends Community, made up of former NFL players, will select eight finalists, with four coming from each conference.

The victor of the award, which will be selected by players across the league, will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Saturday, Feb. 3 on NBC, the night before Super Bowl LII.

The victor will receive a $25,000 donation to the charity of his choosing as well as a trophy.

Like this: