Published: Thu, November 16, 2017
Hi-Tech | By Ellis Neal

How to read deleted messages on WhatsApp

How to read deleted messages on WhatsApp

However, it has an unusual shortcoming. And now, a Spanish blog AndroidJefe has claimed that deleted WhatsApp messages are actually present in the notification log of the device. While it isn't a big flaw, it's still a unusual discovery. They just need to long press the home screen, then Widgets Activities Settings Notification log.

After that, scroll down to Notification Log and tap on the relevant entry on the list. Download Notification History app. Give all the permissions it requires. The "Delete for Everyone" feature was created to let you virtually reach out and rub a message out of existence on recipients' devices. Of course, if you've swiped away or seen a message - which is what's required in the case of Android Jefe's notification log exploit - the ability to read it later after it's been deleted is not really a loophole. "So, it's just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted", reads the blog.

There are further caveats too. Those limitations include that the notification log usually only saves notifications for a few hours. Once you install, you will have to search for the message in the Android notification log. If there was not notification then they will not be able to read the messages. The feature allows users to delete the messages sent accidentally. Now, according to a new report, the recipient can access the deleted messages, quite easily. "The Notification History application is a shortcut to that record", the post reads.

In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both the users must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.

To access the deleted message, first, download a third party app from Google Play Store called Notification History.

But, WhatsApp's deleted messages can still be read.

BGR India reports that the app does not show only the preview but the entire message.

On stock Android, users will have to find the Notification registration option on the Setting menu. Lastly, if does not work on the Android version older than Nougat.

So keep this in mind when you compose a WhatsApp message that you might want to stamp out of existence at some point: it's a lot easier not to write it in the first place than it is to ensure that it's really, truly deleted - just like those oh-so-not-disappearing Snaps!

Like this: