Published: Fri, November 17, 2017
World | By Paul Elliott

BJP releases first list for Gujarat elections: Here's are the 70 candidates

BJP releases first list for Gujarat elections: Here's are the 70 candidates

Curiously, the Patidar Anamat Andolan Samiti (PAAS) members, Varun Patel and Reshma Patel, have not been included in the first list of candidates.

In a letter to Chief Election Commissioner A.K. Joti, Solanki called for sealing of border areas in Gujarat to prevent breach of the prohibition in place in the state, where polling will be held on December 9 and 14. This despite a preliminary list already being prepared by the party's state unit.

Chief Minister Vjay Rupani will contest from his traditional Rajkot West constituency, while Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel will try his luck from Mehsana, also his traditional constituency, and state BJP chief Jitubhai Vaghani will contest from Bhavnagar West.

Among the Congress rebels in the list is Ramsinh Parmar, the chairman of Amul Dairy, who would always be seen sitting in the first row of the Gujarat Assembly on the Opposition benches.

Belying rumours that the BJP would drop several of its sitting MLAs to beat anti-incumbency, the first list seems to have defied those claims and repeated several of them.

Out of the 70 names, 42 are of seats that are going to polls in the first phase (December 9) and 28 are for those constituencies that go to polls on December 14 in the second phase. "It will be a big support to the cause of democracy and the people of Gujarat", the Congress leader said.

The meeting, chaired by BJP president Amit Shah, was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj among others, party leaders said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has been in power in Gujarat for 22 years, winning five successive elections.

Like this: