Published: Wed, December 20, 2017
Hi-Tech | By Ellis Neal

Facebook To Roll Out Tools To Manage Facial Recognition

Facebook To Roll Out Tools To Manage Facial Recognition

The new feature, which Facebook frames as a control measure for a user's image, is one of three new applications of facial recognition technology the company announced Tuesday.

Candela went on to say that Facebook will respect the privacy setting people select when posting a photo, meaning "you won't receive a notification if you're not in the audience".

While there are benefits to the new tool - seeing potentially problematic photos before they spread, being alerted when someone else attempts to use a photo of you as their own profile photo, or simply not missing memories of fun events - some Facebook users are undoubtedly going to be uncomfortable with Facebook taking this matter into its own hands.

The move is an expansion of an existing policy that allows you to untag yourself from photos that others have tagged.

In addition to improved identity management, Facebook is also introducing a way for people who are visually impaired to know more about who is in the photos they encounter on Facebook.

"This was a common concern we heard from people when we researched new features that rely on face recognition technology".

Facebook will alert you when photos of you are uploaded, even if you haven't been tagged in them. We're doing this to prevent people from impersonating others on Facebook. You'll be able to find the on/off switch in Settings under Face Recognition, which will disable the notifications. This works even when those people aren't tagged in the photos.

Are you anxious about frenemies posting unflattering images of you on Facebook?

Having said that, users are always in control of whether they want Facebook to recognize them in photos and videos.

The new feature rolled out to most of Facebook's more than 2 billion global users this morning.

Like this: