Published: Thu, February 15, 2018
World | By Paul Elliott

UML names Oli as Nepal's next Prime Minister

UML names Oli as Nepal's next Prime Minister

K.P. Sharma Oli will head the first government elected under a new national constitution that cements Nepal's transformation from a Hindu monarchy to a federal republic.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office and secrecy to 65-year-old Oli at a function held at President�??s Office, Shital Niwas, in Maharajgunj.

Just this morning, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba announced his resignation in his address to the nation.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari is appointing CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli the new prime minister of the country after he laid claim to the position with the support of almost two-third lawmakers in the House of Representatives.

Deuba was elected as the 40th Prime Minister on June 6 with the support from CPN (Maoist Centre) which is now a part of Left alliance and opting for the merger with CPN-UML. With the formation of the new Parliament, the tenure of the president expires. Oli has been prime minister earlier as well, from October 2015 to August 2016.

Prachanda had resigned on May 24 after a brief stint of nine months, honouring a power sharing understanding with the ruling coalition partner Nepali Congress to hand over the country's leadership to the largest party in Parliament. The leader of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist Leninist), Khadga Prasad Oli, is expected to become the next prime minister. He served as home minister in 1994 and foreign minister in 2007. The left alliance partner CPN (Maoist Center) will prop up his claim.

Like this: