Published: Mon, March 12, 2018
Hi-Tech | By Ellis Neal

WhatsApp changes its 'delete for everyone' feature

WhatsApp changes its 'delete for everyone' feature

The "Delete for Everyone" feature was introduced by WhatsApp previous year in November which allowed the users to delete a sent message within 420 seconds or 7 minutes.

As of now, it is being tested on Android devices, but if the previous testing pattern is taken as any indication, iOS and Windows versions may also get the adaptive icon shape feature, but only after testing.

However, The Verge reports that WhatsApp has allegedly changed its delete feature.

"When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends to the recipient (s) a new message having the same ID of the message that the user wants to revoke", the post added. The time limit is 24 hours rather than 1 hour to account for phones which are offline when the Delete for All message is sent. But once, the set time has passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

What happens at the moment with the messaging app is that if a "Delete for everyone" request feature was sent out, then WhatsApp would just match the request ID to the message ID and then delete if a match was found.

Business Report earlier this month reported that there is a way to read messages on WhatsApp without the sender knowing.

What's more, if you do delete a message, the other people in the conversation see a "message deleted" alert - so they know that you've said something you've regretted, and may ask you some awkward questions about it. In new versions of the app, the messaging service will limit the revoke request to 24 hours, and also check the date of the message along with the ID before applying "Delete for everyone". This ensures that nobody can tamper with the feature to delete messages for everyone.

Like this: