Published: Tue, March 13, 2018
World | By Paul Elliott

Arun Jaitley files nomination for RS poll

Arun Jaitley files nomination for RS poll

Independent candidate Rajeev Chandrasekhar filed nomination for Rajya Sabha as Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) candidate on Monday.

Valera filed his nomination as an independent candidate with the support of 10 Congress MLAs, PTI reported citing sources. In the past, all these four seats were held by BJP candidates. Union Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways Mansukh L Mandaviya and Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Parshottam Rupala will contest election from Gujarat.

The former Shiv Sena chief minister subsequently formed his own party, the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh, and allied with the BJP-led NDA.

Rest two candidates filed their nomination papers as Independent. As per the strength of each party in the assembly, BJP is eligible for three seats, while the Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP are allotted one member each.

If the senior party leaders are to be believed, after being included in the team of BJP National President, Saroj Pandey executed every responsibility given to her effectively. Looking at the selection of the candidates and the in-fighting that has surfaced afterwards, it is clear that there is a feeling of discontent among Congress members from their central leadership. Elections to four RS seats will be held on March 23. Senior UP BJP leader JPS Rathore when contacted said, "In this Rajya Sabha elections, a candidate needs 37 first preference votes to emerge victorious". "I have been a quasi-BJP MP because things that I believe in - giving clean government and better governance, besides providing opportunities for all - are more closely aligned with BJP than any other political party", Chandrasekhar said. Consequently, Congress has named L. Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrashekhar. "This would help us win the third seat as well", said deputy chief minister Nitin Patel.

RJD state President Ram Chander Purve said both Jha and Karim were chosen by party chief Lalu Prasad, now lodged in a Ranchi jail in connection with two fodder scam cases. Rane is a BJP candidate and the Congress has fielded Ketkar. Rana's candidature was announced thereafter.

Ketkar, a regular on TV news debates, filed his papers in the presence of Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee president Ashok Chavan.

Like this: