Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
World | By Paul Elliott

Congress fields 10 candidates for RS polls

Congress fields 10 candidates for RS polls

The four candidates who filed nomination for Maharashtra are Union Human Resource Minister Prakash Javdekar, former CM Narayan Rane, V Murlidharan and state women commission's Chairperson Vijaya Rahatkar. After filing his nomination for Rajya Sabha at the state assembly, he said that the issue of value added tax (VAT) on petroleum products will also be discussed with the states after the RS elections.

He ended his over-a-decade-long association with the party in September previous year, formed the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh, and allied with the BJP-led NDA.

The BJP, which re-nominated its Union ministers to Rajya Sabha last week, announced a list of 18 candidates that include some fresh faces and some newly inducted veterans, with an eye on caste representation.

Six candidates filed papers for five Rajya Sabha seats from West Bengal in Kolkata.

Sources claimed that after SP MP Naresh Agarwal was denied renomination by Akhilesh Yadav for another term in the Rajya Sabha, the possibility of cross-voting by some of the SP MLAs in favour of the BJP candidates had increased. Congress party leader and former minister Rajmani Patel too submitted the nomination form. Consequently, Congress has named L. Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrashekhar. The polling and counting will take place on March 23.

Jha, who is the party's national spokesman, said, "Politics in the country today is a fight between fascist, dictatorial forces represented by the BJP and its allies, and socialist, democratic forces which we represent". The Congress can also send two candidates.

In the 225-member state legislative assembly, including one nominated, the Congress has 122 legislators, BJP 48 and JD-S 37.

While, Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), Janta Dal (United) were the other parties who announced the names of the candidates for Rajya Sabha.

The name of Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, besides a number of other Union ministers had figured in the first list of candidates announced on March 7.

M.P. Veerendrakumar, the LDF-backed Independent candidate, and Babu Prasad of the Congress filed their papers in Kerala.

Like this: